State Authorization Information


Northwestern University’s Master of Arts in Counseling degree is currently authorized to operate, exempt or not subject to approval in Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California*, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. Northwestern University will continue to monitor developments in state laws in each state in which it enrolls students and, if authorization or licensure is or becomes necessary, will obtain such additional approvals.

*California regulations require the equivalent of at least two quarters of coursework in order to begin your Practicum season. Therefore, California residents are only eligible for admission to the traditional and part-time tracks.